Oliver 9 0 0 5 min to read

The DILG will award its Seal of Good Local Governance to 350 LGUs.

Cebuano Cebuano English English Filipino Filipino

The Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) will present the Seal of Good Local Governance (SGLG) award to 350 local government units (LGUs) nationwide next month in recognition of their excellent practices during the coronavirus disease 2019 (Covid-19) pandemic.

The LGUs, which are made up of 18 provinces, 60 cities, and 272 municipalities, were congratulated by Interior Secretary Benjamin “Benhur” Abalos Jr. He said they should serve as inspiration for other LGUs who want to pursue real local autonomy and development.

“Covid-19 is a significant obstacle in public service, but the winners of this year’s SGLG awards persevered. I extend my congratulations to all 350 LGUs for their outstanding work providing their communities with high-quality public services and for winning the 2022 SGLG Award. Despite the difficulties caused by the pandemic and other tragedies we have recently experienced, I salute you for your dedication to improving local governance standards, Abalos said in a statement on Sunday.

According to Abalos, LGUs must successfully complete the SGLG program in order to receive funding. These governance areas include financial management and sustainability, disaster preparedness, social protection and sensitivity, health compliance and responsiveness, sustainable education, business-friendliness and competitiveness, safety, peace and order, environmental management, tourism, heritage development, culture and arts, and youth development.

Only 350 LGUs, or 20.4 percent, of the nation’s 1,715 provinces, cities, and municipalities, according to him, have gotten the SGLG this year.

“Our LGUs have been thoroughly screened toward servicing the needs of our citizenry during this epidemic,” he continued. “Nasala nang mabuti ang ating mga LGU tungo sa paglilingkod na tumutugon sa pangangailangan ng ating mga kababayan ngayong pandemya.”

Abalos claimed that Region 3 (Central Luzon), which is made up of 51 municipalities, six cities, and two provinces, has the greatest number of recipients of the seal out of all the regions in the nation.

The next two regions are Region 2 (Cagayan Valley), which has 35 awardees from 29 municipalities, four cities, and two provinces, and Region 1 (Ilocos Region), which has 54 awardees made up of 48 municipalities, four cities, and two provinces.

Other SGLG recipients for 2022 include five in the National Capital Region, twelve in the Cordillera Administrative Region, thirty-nine in Calabarzon, six in Mimaropa, nine in Region Five (Bicol), twenty-seven in Region Six (Western Visayas), six in Region Seven (Central Visayas), sixteen in Region Eight (Eastern Visayas), six in Region Nine (Zamboanga Peninsula), twenty-six in Region Ten (Norther (BARMM).

All LGU award recipients will be acknowledged and given the SGLG marker in a ceremony next month.

In addition to receiving this year’s SGLG marking, LGU recipients are also qualified for the SGLG incentive fund, which they can use to fund local development projects that serve strategic and national goals.

Under Republic Act No. 11292, also known as The Seal of Good Local Governance Act of 2019, the SGLG program, which evolved from the Seal of Good Housekeeping, was institutionalized.

Cebuano Cebuano English English Filipino Filipino

We appreciate your reading. You may also consider sharing it with others.
Please comment below if you found this post interesting.
Be one of our DONOR / SPONSOR to support NextGenDay news website.
Please follow and like us:
Tweet 2k
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x