Oliver 12 0 0 4 min to read

Thailand hosts the beginning of APEC Economic Leaders’ Week.

Cebuano Cebuano English English Filipino Filipino

Monday marks the start of the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) Forum Week in Bangkok, the Thai capital.

Senior APEC official meetings, ministerial meetings, plenary sessions, exhibitions, and a number of other events associated with the forum will take place in the Queen Sirikit National Convention Center from November 14 to November 19.

On November 18–19, officials from 21 economies will attend the APEC Economic Leaders’ meeting, which will mark the end of the conference.

Thai Prime Minister Prayut Chan-o-cha will preside over the series of activities’ opening ceremony.

The biocircular green economy model created and adopted as a national plan for sustainable development in the post-Covid era will be presented by the kingdom’s authorities.

The strategy focuses on economic growth based on resource efficiency, waste reduction, and carbon emission reduction.

It combines socioeconomic issues that all nations are working to resolve with the aims of preserving the environment, battling climate change, implementing the green transition, and advancing renewable energy sources.

forum users

The Thai administration emphasized numerous times that it was fully prepared to host the APEC meeting.

All economies accepted the kingdom’s invitation, the authorities, including the Prime Minister, said in late October.

Depending on its domestic circumstances, each country was free to choose the size of the delegation that would represent it at the forum.

The leaders of Australia, Vietnam, Brunei, Indonesia, Canada, China, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Singapore, the Philippines, Chile, and Japan, as well as the head of Hong Kong’s administration, confirmed their personal attendance as a result.

Malaysia, Mexico, Peru, Russia, the United States, Taiwan, and South Korea, on the other hand, opted for representation at a lesser level.

First Deputy Prime Minister Andrey Belousov will represent the Russian Federation, and Vice President Kamala Harris will represent the United States.

The prime minister of Cambodia, Hun Sen, the president of France, Emmanuel Macron, and the prime minister and the crown prince of Saudi Arabia, Mohammed bin Salman Al Saud, will all attend APEC at the invitation of the prime minister.

Along with attending the APEC summit, the leaders of China, Saudi Arabia, and Vietnam will also have bilateral talks with Thailand’s prime minister at the Government House.


19 nations and two territories make up APEC. Australia, Brunei, Indonesia, Canada, Malaysia, New Zealand, Singapore, USA, Thailand, the Philippines, South Korea, and Japan are among the 12 founding nations.

China (which joined in 1991), Mexico, Papua New Guinea, Chile, Russia, Vietnam, and Peru are some of the other participants (1998).

Hong Kong and Taiwan, two Chinese territories, joined APEC in 1991.

Thailand has assumed the organization’s chairmanship from New Zealand and will transfer it to the US.

Cebuano Cebuano English English Filipino Filipino

We appreciate your reading. You may also consider sharing it with others.
Please comment below if you found this post interesting.
Be one of our DONOR / SPONSOR to support NextGenDay news website.
Please follow and like us:
Tweet 2k
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x