June 7, 2021

DOT now allows leisure travel from the NCR and MGCQ zones

The Department of Tourism (DOT) announced Tuesday that leisure travel from NCR Plus to places under modified general community (MGCQ) is now permitted.

However, such travel must be strictly point-to-point, which means that although pit breaks or stopovers are permitted for food and personal needs, no side excursions to other tourist locations are permitted.

Before traveling, people under the age of 18 and those over the age of 65 will be subjected to an RT-PCR test, according to the DOT.

Furthermore, commercial flights for leisure trips may now resume, indicating an apparent loosening of restrictions from the prior arrangement, which permitted only chartered flights.

“We are excited to see our tourism hotspots welcome visitors from the NCR Plus region once again. Naturally, this must be done with extreme prudence “Bernadette Romulo-Puyat, the Secretary of Tourism, said.

“The Department of Transportation will continue to increase its interaction with our local governments to guarantee strict adherence to health and safety rules,” she said.

Metro Manila and the bordering provinces of Bulacan, Cavite, Laguna, and Rizal are covered by NCR Plus.

Other interzonal travel rules established by the LGUs involved, or, in the case of Boracay Island, the Boracay Inter-Agency Task Force, will also apply.

“We continue to rely on passengers to follow basic health precautions. I know our kababayans have been itching to go out and enjoy the summer, but let us exercise caution to safeguard ourselves and the communities in which we choose to visit “Puyat went on to say.

NCR Plus, Abra, Baguio City, Kalinga, Mountain Province, Isabela, Nueva Vizcaya, Quirino, Batangas, Quezon, Iligan City, Davao City, Lanao del Sur, and Cotabato City are all under GCQ from June 1 to 30.

From June 1 to 15, the following places are under a tougher modified enhanced community quarantine (MECQ): Region 2, Apayao, Benguet, Ifugao, Puerto Princesa, Iloilo City, Zamboanga City, Zamboanga Sibugay, Zamboanga del Sur, Zamboanga del Norte, Cagayan de Oro City, Butuan City, and Agusan del Sur.

MGCQ will be imposed on the remainder of the nation until June 30.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x