WebAdmin 21 0 0 6 min to read

Duterte approves a P10,000 service recognition award for government employees.

Qualified government employees will have another reason to rejoice this Christmas season, as a new administrative order (AO) signed by President Rodrigo R. Duterte will provide them with a one-time service recognition incentive (SRI) worth PHP10,000.

AO No. 45, which was signed by Duterte on December 24, follows the execution of Joint Resolution 4, which was signed on June 17, 2009, and enables the grant of incentives to honor an employee’s devotion to government service and contributions to the agency’s continued viability.

“The government continues to recognize all public servants for their unwavering participation in and invaluable contribution to the establishment of streamlined government processes and responsive delivery of services to the public, especially in the midst of the current public health emergency caused by the Covid-19 pandemic,” the AO stated.

AO No. 45 further emphasizes the importance of providing fair incentives and assistance to government employees who are affected not just by the epidemic but also by numerous natural disasters.

Civilian employees in national government agencies (NGAs), including those at state universities and colleges (SUCs) and government-owned or controlled businesses (GOCCs), will be eligible for the incentive under the AO, whether they are employed on a regular, contractual, or casual basis.

Uniformed personnel of the Philippine National Police, Bureau of Fire Protection, and Bureau of Jail Management and Penology under the Department of Interior and Local Government, the Bureau of Corrections under the Department of Justice, the Philippine Coast Guard under the Department of Transportation, and the National Mapping and Resource Information Authority under the Department of Transportation

AO No. 45 also provides a one-time SRI to civilian employees who are still working for the government on November 30, 2021.

Government employees who have completed at least four months of satisfactory service as of November 30, 2021, including services under any of the Civil Service Commission’s alternative work arrangements, will be eligible for a one-time SRI.

Employees who have worked for the government for less than four months will receive a 40% pro-rated part of the SRI, while those who have worked for less than three months would receive a 30% pro-rated share of the incentive.

Those who work for the government for less than two months and one month will receive 20% and 10% of the pro-rated share of the monetary incentive, respectively.

Employees who did not get any additional year-end benefit in the fiscal year 2021 will also be eligible for the one-time SRI.

Consultants and experts hired for a limited time to perform specific activities or services with expected outcomes; laborers hired under job contracts (pakyaw) and those paid on a piecework basis; student workers and apprentices; and individuals and groups of people hired under job orders, service contracts, or other similar work schemes are all excluded from AO No. 45.

The funds for the grant of the SRI to Executive Department workers will come from the relevant agencies’ released Personnel Services (PS) allotments under Republic Act No. 11518 or the FY 2021 General Appropriations Act (GAA).

Employees of the Senate, House of Representatives, Judiciary, Office of the Ombudsman, and Constitutional Offices with fiscal autonomy may also be provided a one-time SRI at a uniform amount not exceeding PHP10,000 each by their respective heads of office.

Employees of the local government, including those in the barangays (villages), may be eligible for a one-time SRI, which is established by the sanggunians (city or municipal council) according to on their financial capability.

Employees of Local Water Districts (LWDs) may also be eligible for a one-time SRI of PHP10,000, as determined by their Boards of Directors.

The Department of Budget and Management (DBM) is directed by AO No. 45 to develop supplemental instructions in order to successfully implement the order.

“The SRI shall be paid to all qualified government employees no later than December 21, 2021,” the AO stated.

Please follow and like us:
Tweet 2k
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x