WebAdmin 1 0 0 6 min to read

In NorMin, the Comelec announces the winners of local polls.

The Northern Mindanao Region’s Boards of Canvassers (BOCs) of the Commission on Elections (Comelec) have declared all local victors in the May 9 elections.

Rolando “Klarex” Uy, the incumbent first district representative, was declared mayor-elect late Tuesday evening in this city. On June 30, he will succeed in departing Mayor Oscar Moreno.

According to local election officer Lawyer Rowell Valledor, Uy received 160,312 votes to defeat former Phividec Industrial Authority Administrator Jose Gabriel “Pompee” La Via, who received 128,071 votes.

Uy thanked supporters for giving him the opportunity to lead the city and promised to serve people with the “highest quality of public service.”

“Finally, it’s done, and now it’s time to get back to work because we have people to serve,” Uy told reporters.

Jocelyn Rodriguez, a current City Councilor and La Via’s running mate, was also named vice mayor-elect.

Rodriguez defeated incumbent Councilor Edna Dahino, Uy’s running mate, with 178,162 votes to 99,017 votes.

“We will prioritize the people, strengthen our policies and initiatives to bring advantages to them,” Rodriguez stated.

Oriental Misamis

The Provincial BOC (PBOC) of Misamis Oriental has named incumbent Gingoog City vice mayor Peter Unabia as the new provincial governor.

Unabia received 248,859 votes from 23 municipalities and two cities in the province, according to PBOC chairperson Aleli Dayo Ramirez.

Unabia defeated incumbent Misamis Oriental 2nd District Rep. Juliette Uy with 182,130 votes and Moreno with 89,404 votes in the gubernatorial election.

Moreno conceded to Unabia in a statement, calling the election results “the decision of the people.”

Unabia’s running companion, Jeremy Jonahmar “Jigjag” Pelaez, won the vice-gubernatorial campaign with 251,042 votes, securing a second term in the same position.

Former vice governor Jose Mari “Joey” Pelaez, who received 154,314 votes, was defeated by Pelaez.

City of Iligan

Meanwhile, in Iligan City, Frederick Siao and his running companion Marianito “Dodong” Alemania were declared mayor and vice mayor, respectively, in a “Solid 15” election.

Alemania received 69,424, while Siao received 81,205 votes.

Siao campaigned under the slogan “Solid 15” against incumbents led by Vice Mayor Jemar Vera Cruz, who received 52,766 votes.

Ian Uy, Vera Cruz’s running companion, received 61,239.

With 75,462 votes to Varf Belmonte’s 70,272, Vera Cruz’s ally, incumbent Mayor Celso Regencia, was elected as the city’s lone district representative.

Siao’s allies won nine of the 12 council seats, with Vera Cruz’s local party winning the remaining three.


According to the unofficial Comelec transparency server, incumbent 4th District Rep. Rogelio Neil Roque toppled the Zubiri family’s decades-long dominance in Bukidnon province by winning the gubernatorial seat with 365,999 votes.

Roque’s running companion, current Manolo Fortich Mayor Clive Quino, was also named vice-governor by the BOC.

With 361,426, Roque and Quino defeated incumbent 3rd District Rep. Manuel Antonio Zubiri and Pastor Dangallo for Vice Governor with 198,201 votes.

With 128,887 votes, incumbent Governor Jose Maria Zubiri will be a representative in the province’s 2nd district.

Occidental Misamis

After nearly all candidates from the “Team Asenso (progress)” won the elections, the province of Misamis Occidental has been designated as an “Asenso Country.”

With 238,302 votes, incumbent House of Representatives Deputy Speaker Henry Oaminal defeated incumbent Governor Philip Tan, who received 94,025 votes.

For vice governor, Oaminal’s running mate, the late Michael Gutierrez, received 199,504 votes over Richard Centino’s 90,256.

His wife, Rowena, will take over after his unexpected death due to a shooting last year.

Even in Tan’s bailiwick of Tangub City, Oaminal’s allies defeated the incumbent governor’s slate for local executive and council seats.

Lanao del Norte, Camiguin

After the BOC declared the Romualdos and their allies winners in the province of Camiguin, they will continue to hold elected mandates in the province.

Xavier With 37,183 votes, Jesus Romualdo received the most votes for governor; Rodin Romualdo received 35,893 votes for vice governor; and Jurdin Jesus Romualdo received 33,079 votes for the lone congressional district.

Imelda Dimaporo will be re-elected governor of Lanao del Norte with 245,958 votes, and her running mate Allan Lim will be vice governor with 202,282 votes.

Khalid and Aminah Dimaporo, Dimaporo’s children, will represent the province’s first and second districts, respectively.

Please follow and like us:
Tweet 2k
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x