WebAdmin 0 0 0 5 min to read

CAR announces election victors; Magalong keeps his Baguio post

Winners for various elected positions in the Cordillera Administrative Region’s six provinces and two cities have been announced, some as early as Monday evening and the last batch on Tuesday evening.

Following the completion of the canvassing of the precincts that spanned 128 barangays in the city, the Commission on Elections (Comelec) declared incumbent Baguio City Mayor Benjamin Magalong reelected as early as Monday evening (May 9).

He was announced alongside Vice Mayor Faustino Olowan and re-elected Congressman Marquez “Mark” Go.

Tabuk City victors Darwin Estranero for mayor and Dick Bal-o for vice mayor, as well as the councilors, were also announced on Monday night.

On Monday evening, Abra Congressman Joseph Sto. Nio “JB” Bernos, who ran for mayor of La Paz, was also proclaimed. He was the only candidate for the job.

Around 3 p.m. on Tuesday, Congressman Solomon Chungalao and Vice Governor Glenn Prudenciano were re-elected, together with Lamut town mayor and governor-elect Jerry Dalipog.

At 3 p.m. Tuesday in Benguet, the winners for the top provincial positions were announced: Congressman-elect Eric Go Yap, reelected Governor Melchor Diclas, and newcomer Felipe Tagel as vice governor.

Around 5 p.m., the provincial canvassers in Kalinga declared victory. Congressman Allen Jesse Mangaoang was re-elected to Congress on Tuesday, while former Vice Governor James Edduba was elected governor and former Governor Jocel Baac was chosen vice governor.

In Mountain Province, incumbent Congressman Maximo Dalog, Governor Bonifacio Lacwasan, and Vice Governor Francis Tauli were all reelected in the same position on Tuesday at 6 p.m.

Governor-elect and incumbent Bangued Mayor Dominic Valera, incumbent governor and vice-governor-elect Joy Valera-Bernos, and incumbent La Paz Mayor Ching Bernos, who won as congresswoman of Abra’s lone district, were among the Abra winners announced about 7 p.m. on Tuesday.

In Apayao, where most of the seats were won by unopposed candidates, election supervisor Ricardo Bulintao said the winners were announced about 9 p.m. on Tuesday evening via social media.

Air resources

“This is the fastest that Abra has finished and proclaimed the winning candidates and forwarded the result to the national board of canvassers,” said Abra election officer and Provincial Election Board chairman Ricardo Lampac.

He claimed that if it hadn’t been for two communities that were normally the last to submit results due to their distance from the province capital, they could have finished sooner.

Lampac claimed that the municipalities of Tineg and Lacub, which have precincts in remote areas, lacked an internet signal that would enable the transmission.

He explained that because Sitio Talipugo in Lacub is not accessible by road, the election supplies and results had to be transmitted and delivered by air.

“If they walk, it will take them approximately two days to reach the spot, but they were flown to the location of the municipal canvassing and the municipal result was also flown to the capital town,” Lampac said.

According to Lampac, the Commission on Elections’ good collaboration with various government organizations enabled it to complete its work faster and submit the required results earlier.

Please follow and like us:
Tweet 2k
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x