WebAdmin 0 0 0 2 min to read

Davao Region had three female governors.

In the Davao Region, three female governors were declared election winners.

Corazon Malanyaon, who ran unopposed in the gubernatorial race in Davao Oriental; novice candidate Dorothy Gonzaga, who overcame an incumbent adversary; and another neophyte, Yvonne Roo Cagas, who defeated two male opponents to win the governor seat in Davao del Sur.

Cagas is the wife of Governor Marc Cagas, who is stepping down. Carl Jason Rama-Bautista and lawyer Israelito Torreon were her opponents.

Meanwhile, Gonzaga is a former associate justice of the Court of Appeals. Arturo “Chiongkee” Uy, the incumbent governor, was defeated. Former President Rodrigo Roa Duterte appointed Gonzaga to the CA in 2018, replacing Justice Romeo Barza.

Malanyaon, on the other hand, was the first district representative before being elected governor, a position she held from 2007 to 2016.

Furthermore, Governor Edwin Jubahib of Davao del Norte was re-elected to a second term after receiving 310,947 votes to his opponent Roy Catalan’s 202,112.

Franklin Bautista, who ran unopposed, won the gubernatorial race in Davao Occidental with 102,421 votes, while former Rep. Lorna Bandigan took second place with 95,565 votes.

Please follow and like us:
Tweet 2k
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x