WebAdmin 2 0 0 4 min to read

Marcos appoints a national security adviser and a director of the Defense Advanced Research Projects (DAR).

MANILA, Philippines — President-elect Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos Jr. selected two additional people for his Cabinet on Wednesday, according to his campaign.

Under Marcos’ administration, retired University of the Philippines (UP) Prof. Clarita Carlos and ABONO party-list Rep. Conrado Estrella III was named as National Security Adviser and Secretary of the Department of Agrarian Reform (DAR), respectively.

During Marcos’ meeting with Carlos and Estrella at the President-offices, elect’s in Mandaluyong City, the new Cabinet appointments were discussed.

Marcos’ offer was accepted by Carlos and Estrella.

“Retired UP Professor Clarita Carlos meets with incoming President Ferdinand ‘Bongbong’ Marcos, Jr., along with ABONO Partylist Rep. Conrado Estrella III, as both accepted the offer to join new members of the Cabinet,” the Marcos camp said in a press statement.

Carlos is a former UP Diliman political science lecturer.

She was the first female civilian president of the Philippine National Defense College.

Carlos also worked as a consultant for Congress and other government bodies, including the President’s Adviser on the Peace Process.

She wrote books and papers on a variety of topics, including political parties, elections, defense and security, and foreign policy.

Meanwhile, Estrella serves as one of the 18th Congress’s House deputy speakers.

From 1987 until 1995, he was a member of Congress representing Pangasinan’s 6th District. From 2001 to 2010, he was elected to the same seat.

In 2013, he was elected to the House of Representatives as a member of the ABONO party’s list.

Estrella was also the National Electrification Administration’s chief.

Marcos has announced the names of 15 people who would be joining his Cabinet so far.

He had previously named Vic Rodriguez, his longtime chief of staff and spokeswoman, as Executive Secretary, Vice President-elect Sara Duterte-Carpio as Education Secretary, and Davao del Norte Representative Anton Lagdameo Jr. as Special Assistant to the President.

Marcos also named Arsenio Balisacan to be the secretary of the National Economic and Development Authority, Benjamin Diokno to be the Finance Secretary, Alfred Pascual to be the Trade Secretary, and Felipe Medalla to be the governor of the Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas.

Beatrix Rose “Trixie” Cruz-Angeles as Press Secretary, Cavite Rep. Jesus Crispin Remulla as Justice Secretary, Bienvenido Laguesma as Labor Secretary, Susan Ople as Migrant Workers Secretary, Manuel Bonoan as Public Works Secretary, and Benjamin “Benhur” Abalos Jr. as Interior Secretary are among Marcos’ other Cabinet nominees.

Please follow and like us:
Tweet 2k
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x