Oliver Bugarin 4 0 0 4 min to read

DSWD introduces a new method of allocating educational aid.

A new mechanism has been implemented by the Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD) 9 (Zamboanga Peninsula) to ensure the efficient provision of educational support to pupils in the area.

Ivan Eric Salvador, DSWD-9’s information officer, stated on Friday that the new method requires applicants to register online before being contacted for the purpose of claiming their financial help for college.

“We no longer accept applications from walk-ins. For those who haven’t signed up yet, the DSWD website offers online registration, according to Salvador. Please refrain from going to the payoff location if you haven’t heard from DSWD.

The DSWD has identified two locations for this city where the educational help would be distributed on Saturday, but Salvador withheld that information, claiming that “they will be adequately alerted.”

He stated that 500 pupils are the intended recipients of the educational help that would be distributed on August 27.

The financial aid for low-income students will cover up to three children per family, with elementary school students receiving PHP1,000, high school students receiving PHP2,000, senior high school students receiving PHP3,000, and college and vocational course students receiving PHP4,000.

The DSWD-9 implemented the new approach to avoid a repeat of the rush that occurred here on August 20, the day the school aid was first scheduled to be released.

When the mob rushed into the entrance of the Zamboanga City High School main campus in Barangay Tetuan during the first payout, 29 people—two men and 27 women, ranging in age from 16 to 58—were hurt.

According to a recent instruction from the DSWD central office, recipients of the government’s Pantawid Pamilyang Pilipino Program (4Ps) and students who have been awarded scholarships are not eligible for the agency’s financial aid for higher education.

Students who receive financial aid from the Department of Education, the Commission on Higher Education, local governmental entities, non-governmental organizations, and other sponsoring organizations, both public and private, are also ineligible.

We appreciate your reading. You may also consider sharing it with others.
Please comment below if you found this post interesting.
Be one of our DONOR / SPONSOR to support NextGenDay news website.
Please follow and like us:
Tweet 2k
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x